top of page
  • Kevin Price

Hall announces winners in benefit tournament hosted by Sea Island

The Glynn County Sports Hall of Fame held its 2019 Hall of Fame Golf Classic Sunday at the Sea Island Golf Club’s Retreat Course on St. Simons Island.

A solid field competed in the four-person scramble tournament which featured an assortment of nice prizes for the winning teams and the on-course skills challenges such as closest-to-the-pin on all par-3 holes and two long drive competitions on the par-5 first and 10th holes.

The winning team played under the sponsorship provided by Coca-Cola. The players on the team were Worth Pickens, Bobby Hrdlicka, Jimmy Bishop and Trey Pralinsky.

The tournament runner-up was the team of John Nelson, Trey Godley, Justin Brown and Daniel McGahee.

Ten teams went home with a complimentary round for four at most every course in Glynn County and surrounding areas including Sea Island, Frederica Golf Club, King and Prince Golf Course, Sea Palms, Brunswick Country Club, Heritage Oaks, Sanctuary Cove and Osprey Cove. Also, TPC Sawgrass rounds were donated by Lagardere Sports on St. Simons Island.

The skills challenge prizes came from the Sea Island Performance Center, Emerald Princess II Casino and Edwin Watts on St. Simons Island.

Numerous door prizes were donated by restaurants such as Pizza Inn and Skipper’s Fish Camp. Nalley Honda Brunswick also sponsored a prize. Glynn County Schools Athletics, Frederica Academy Athletics and boys golf and College of Coastal Georgia Athletics and men’s golf all donated athletic and golf apparel.

Sea Island teaching pro and Coastal Georgia coach Mike Cook donated a complimentary one-hour lesson. Coach Bo Creations donated original wood craft works and the Hall of Fame gave away HOF logo polo shirts.

Each participating player was given a Hall of Fame Golf Classic hat and a Hall of Fame golf towel with an embroidered HOF logo as tee gifts. The towel also featured the address for the Hall of Fame’s new web site -

Both the hats and towels were ordered from tournament sponsor Flexer Enterprises in Brunswick.

Also, H and H Lifestyles provided a 50-inch wide screen TV that will be good for watching sporting events such as the upcoming March Madness, next month’s Masters tournament, Altanta Braves baseball and of course college and pro football this coming fall.

Through a raffle ticket drawing for the Grand Prize, the TV was won by Trey Godley, son of longtime area golf club professional Steve Godley.

Also Sea Island provided a surprise second Grand Prize item - a round for four at the renowned Seaside Course which is the annual home of the RSM Classic put on by the Davis Love Foundation, both regular Hall of Fame sponsors. The Seaside round was won by Devin Clark.

Also, XL Carts on St. Simons Island sponsored a Hole-in-One giveaway which was a plush $13,000 street-ready golf cart. No one won the prize which was displayed on the par-3 12th hole which played more than 170 yards for the men in the field and 150 yards for the women players. There was still a closest-to-the pin award for the hole.  

All proceeds from the tournament benefit the Hall of Fame, a non-profit organization that formed in 2011. The Hall of Fame has inducted 35 members in six different classes dating back to the inaugural 2012 class. The next class will be inducted in early 2020. A complete listing of the previous honorees and their accomplishments can be found on the Hall of Fame web site.

The following is a list of the winners in the 2019 Hall of Fame Golf Classic:

Low Gross

Champion - Coca-Cola (Worth Pickens, Bobby Hrdlicka, Jimmy Bishop, Trey Pralinsky) - 52 (Gross score)

Runner-up - John Nelson, Trey Godley, Justin Brown, Daniel McGahee - 53 (Gross score, won via tiebreaker).

Low Net

3rd - Brunswick Floors (Wyley Carter, Craig Staab, Scott Spence, Robert Hrdlicka

4th - Hasty’s Communications (Steve Bannister, Devin Clark, Alex Doke, Garrett Buie

5th - Herman Hudson, Paxton Shuman, Josh Williams, Moon Warwick (lost tiebreaker for gross runner-up)

6th - Georgia Beach Rentals (Benji Bennett, Jimmy Goodis, Jeff Betts, Victor Long)

7th - Jeff Jones/Edward Jones (Jeff Jones, Logan Jones, Lee King, Brett Bodamer)

8th - Certified Electric (Emory Young, Jay Sanders, Scott Adcock, Will Young)

9th - Rusty Sweat, Clark Hendley, Jason Webster, Scott Ferrell

10th - Ferrier and Ferrier (Crystal Turner, Scott Turner, Joe Ferrier Jr., Joe Ferrier Sr.)


Hole 3 - Crystal Turner

Hole 4 - Devin Clark

Hole 12 - Logan Jones

Hole 16 - Scott Ferrell

Long Drive

Hole 1 - Joe Ferrier Jr.

Hole 10 - Jimmy Bishop

257 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page